J Geeks in Japan: Akihabara and then some

13 07 2009

The journey continues, with some intersting otaku buiness to report.

Yesterday, I went to see Rookies, the movie that finishes the drama`s story of a group of deliquent high school baseball players straightening up and pursuing their dream of a national championship. I`ll be the first to admit that my understanding of Japanese is still lacking, and I understood only about half of what was said. However, the movie, which was a lot like a longer episode (though perhaps more dramatic) employs enough other elements that, even when the words are not understood, the situation is impossible not to grasp. The dramatic power of Rookies was apparent as even my skeptical girlfriend (who is Japanese)  was in tears for about half the film. It`s definitely worth checking out.

Also made a short journey to Akihabara, impromptu, and found To Love Ru figures and, to my surprise and delight, a machine containing Sora wo Kakeru Shoujo keitai figures. Of course I plugged the machine full, and got each one (only one duplicate!).

Well, that:s the report for today. Later,  Iwill report on my trip through Osaka and Kyoto (the former of which I now am). Ja mata!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

